Posted in Uncategorized

Why I Believe Art is an Important Part of Our Spiritual Formation.

I keep coming back to this painting we new understanding. As Christians it is so important to remind ourselves daily of the blessing of the Incarnation. I first must gaze before I can point others and before I can imitate I must see and be gratful:) Have a Blessed week!

God Thru the Arts

The Sistine Madonna, by Raphael, 11513-14, Oil on canvas, 270x201cm, Gemaldegalerie , Dresden, Image courtesy Web Gallery of Art. The Sistine Madonna, by Raphael, 11513-14, Oil on canvas, 270x201cm, Gemaldegalerie , Dresden, Image courtesy Web Gallery of Art.

Rafael Angels

<a href=”http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sistine_Madonna” John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” NIV

As I traveled through the area this summer trying to convince Christians of their need for the arts, I was struck by this phrase or title used by many of “Spiritual Formation” and I wondered what was meant by this exactly. Henri Nouwen,  in his book called Spiritual Directions, defines it thus: “Spiritual Formation is the ever increasing capacity to live a spiritual life from the heart.”

So how do we go about this? What are the tools we can use to cultivate our heart for God? I believe spending time reflecting on God’s love and gifts to us is…

View original post 414 more words

Author:

I am a Christian Author, Arts Teacher, Public Speaker and Musician. My mission is to share the power of arts to the greater Christian community. My books, "My Dancing Day: Reflections of the Incarnation in Art and Music" and "The Joyful Sound, Reflections on the Life of Christ in Art and Music" can be found on Amazon or in My Createspace estore: https://www.createspace.com/4318541

Leave a Reply

