Posted in Connecting With God thru the Arts, Inroduction to Art and Music, Sunday Morning Meditations, Uncategorized

Christ is the Conduit of God’s Love

Salvador Dali Ascension
Salvador Dali’s painting Ascension of Christ was completed in 1958 and is considered one of the finest examples of symbolic surrealist expression. Oil on canvas, 115 x 123 cm, privately owned

This artwork may be protected by copyright. It is posted on the site in accordance with fair use principles. file source

Listen to this interview of Dali by Mike Wallace

I will not pretend to completely understand this work, but instead point out some of the things to view and then follow it with my own meditation.

  • Dali is challenging us to view Christ’s ascension differently
  • He confuses us with an image that is moving upwards and backwards at once.
  • He places a woman weeping from the sky. This woman is his wife Gala who he has cast as the Virgin Mary in previous paintings.
  • Subtitle: Pieta
  • The round sunlike circle echoes the florets of the sunflower a naturally occurring example of perfection.

Apostels’ Creed Week #7 “He Ascended to Heaven”

My thoughts:

Salvador Dali’s Ascension of Christ strikes a visual chord of tension that produces in me the discomfort revealed in all of us as we consider Christ’s departure.

As you gaze at this painting,  see the idea of light and pure energy drawing Jesus heavenward. For me, always the musician,  I am struck by his outstretched arms that like a conductor are holding the notes of a dramatically placed chord in a symphony…

Jesus, as he leads us to seek him…

brings us out of our comfort zone to the beauty of new horizons.

We weep, knowing we have seen perfect love and we wonder:

“Are we ready?” 

Just a little while longer in preparation for the journey;

A little while longer in His presence;

soaking in the warmth of the sun.

Surely I am not ready to stand on my own two feet.

more study….more nurturing….more incubation of  love….

To find Christ now I must look for him within my heart as I continue his walk and this scares me.

What will I say?   Who will be my comfort?   How will I know?

And so I watch for my direction and listen for how to strike the chord.

First baby steps….and then walking further… allowing myself to feel the  pain.

And when I do, I recognize it in the face of another.

Now I see… New eyes here:

For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there I will be in the midst of them.” Matt 18:20

And the chord is struck!

His power resonating through me…through us.

I understand the dissonance in the harmonies.

I find my place in his music…

Listening to all the voices…

 

Christus Vincit music by James MacMillan (b.1959)

Christ Conquers

Christ is King

Christ is Lord of all.

Alleluia!

“And lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world.” Matt 28:20

Have a blessed week:)

 

Author:

I am a Christian Author, Arts Teacher, Public Speaker and Musician. My mission is to share the power of arts to the greater Christian community. My books, "My Dancing Day: Reflections of the Incarnation in Art and Music" and "The Joyful Sound, Reflections on the Life of Christ in Art and Music" can be found on Amazon or in My Createspace estore: https://www.createspace.com/4318541

Leave a Reply

