Posted in Connecting With God thru the Arts, Inroduction to Art and Music, Uncategorized

Uncle Tom’s Cabin

Sitting home today in the middle of snow storm, I have decided it is a wonderful day for a discussion of flowers:)

Multiflora rose

Several years ago while on a car trip in New England, my husband and I stopped over in Hartford Conn, to visit the home of Mark Twain. It is quite spectacular and defiantly worth the trip, but what I ended up discovering  was something quit unplanned.

 

Stowe House

I discovered that Mark Twain lived next door to Harriet Beecher Stowe.. that he had been friends with her and that she was actually the more famous well established writer of their time.

So as we had an hour to kill before closing  we decided to wonder over to see if we could get a tour of her house also…..we would be able to tic off two birds with one stone so to speak.

Our tour guide was a very nice young man who turned out to be a fabulous authority on Harriet Beecher Stowe and I began to catch his enthusiasm for the dear lady.

At that time, I had never read her great work.

 As  I stood in this dear women’s living room staring at her writing desk, I began to feel that I was somehow standing on Holy Ground and that I was shamefully unprepared.

Since then I have grown to love this book and treasure my memories of standing before her writing desk. I hope you will all take the time to read it if you haven’t already. For now, however I will share my insight about the name…you see, she really writes very little about the cabin and so it has puzzled me as to why she gave it this name. Her description starts as follows:

uncle-toms-cabinThe cabin of Uncle Tom was a small log building….

The whole front of it was covered by a large scarlet bignonia and a native multi-flora rose, which, entwisting and interlacing, left scarce a vestige of the rough logs to be seen.

Being a detective at heart and knowing that paintings are filled with symbols that have some how lost their meaning to our modern mind, I felt sure that Mrs. Stowe would have known all about the symbolic nature of flowers and that her description was no accident.

In time, I discovered that common to her day, the scarlet begonia represented the Heart of Christ and the native multi-flora rose represented natural purity. The idea here, I believe, is that Christ transformed the heart of our dear Uncle Tom.

begonia-ill-scarlett-1x1

Be careful out there as you shovel away the most recent offering of snow and when you are done…I hope you take time to discover a treasured book next to a warm fire drinking a cup of your favorite hot drink:)

Blessings to you as we wait upon the Lord’s timing in all things.

Author:

I am a Christian Author, Arts Teacher, Public Speaker and Musician. God thru the Arts is a ministry that works to share the power of arts to the greater Christian community. You can find my blog @ jrundlett.wordpress.com. My books, "My Dancing Day: Reflections of the Incarnation in Art and Music" and "The Joyful Sound, Reflections on the Life of Christ in Art and Music" can be found @ My Createspace estore: https://www.createspace.com/4318541

3 thoughts on “Uncle Tom’s Cabin

  1. Harriet Beecher Stowe and her writing are remarkable. I was introduced to her book, “Uncle Tom’s Cabin”, late in life, and I felt ashamed that I had waited so long to read this classic. From there I had to know more about her life and I read her biography. She proved to have a great heart for justice and a love for following Jesus and his teaching. Her father and brothers were ministers of the gospel. But, she gave one of the most prominent sermons of her day through the writing of this book. Amen

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on God Thru the Arts and commented:

    If you are near the Frederick Maryland Area, please join my downtown at the Evangelical Lutheran Church 6:30-7:45 for my Shining Stars/Spiritual Heroes series. This week will be a look at the Psalmist David and Harriet Beecher Stowe’s Uncle Tom’s Cabin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

